A password-protected directory is a folder that can't be accessed unless the proper login credentials are offered. This can be a whole website or simply a single page which is located in a subfolder. If you attempt to open this type of a directory, you will see an Internet browser pop-up in which you will have to enter a username as well as a password. In case you input the appropriate ones, you can continue exploring the content without needing to do anything additional. If the login details are not correct, however, you shall see a message that you aren't permitted to see the content. If this feature is activated, you won't be able to open a file even if you have a direct link. The feature is very practical if you need to limit the access to some content or if you work on a website and you do not want visitors to be able to access it before it's ready.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting

When you use any of our shared hosting plans, you'll be able to make password-protected areas with ease even if you have no experience with this sort of matters. We've incorporated an extremely easy-to-use point-and-click tool into the Hepsia CP, offered with all accounts, so you will be able to protect any folder within just seconds. You will only have to choose a domain or a subdomain and the particular folder which must be protected (the primary one or a subfolder), and then to type in the username and password that'll be used to access the folder in question when you need it. Any secured folder will have a padlock icon inside the File Manager section, so you'll be able to see easily what content is secured and what is not. If required, you may create a number of sets of login credentials for the same folder.

Password Protected Directories in Semi-dedicated Servers

When you have a semi-dedicated server account with our company, you'll be able to secure any content you have uploaded through our protection tool. Its interface is as simple and intuitive as that of the Hepsia Control Panel it's a part of, so you will not have to type in any code at any time. You will simply have to choose one of the domains/subdomains which you have inside the hosting account and to select which folder needs to be password-protected - the website’s root folder or some folder below it. You may then type in the username and the password, that'll be stored in encrypted form in our system, and you shall be all set. The protection will be activated immediately, so anyone that attempts to access the recently protected folder shall have to input the accurate login info. If various people must be able to open the exact same content, you could make a separate username for each one.